Colwick Woods has a rich history of various uses all affecting its development and forming today’s features.Some of Colwick Woods is ‘ancient woodland’ as defined nationally as having had continuous woodland cover for 600yrs. Other areas of woodland are recent having developed naturally from farmland abandoned in the 1950’s. There are also areas of planted trees.
Colwick Woods was once part of the Colwick Hall estate owned by the Byron Family and managed as a deer park. There are still remains of the Ice House which served as the fridge for Colwick Hall including storing venison.
Prisoner of War Camp
Originally we believe this camp site was an army barracks, housing personnel who manned anti-aircraft emplacements that were to protect the ordinance depot in the Meadows area.
Originally we believe this camp site was an army barracks, housing personnel who manned anti-aircraft emplacements that were to protect the ordinance depot in the Meadows area
It was then used as a Prisoner of War Camp, and in 1950 it was converted into emergency housing for 24 families until 1955 when the huts were demolished.
The new football pitches are on the site of previous football pitches, previously ridge and furrow old species-rich grassland unfortunately lost. However old grassland is being rescued on the land newly added to the woods above Greenwood Dale School. Pitch and putt golf course shape of the greens and bunkers.